Children s Books, Kids Books, Stories for Kids

Starting Preschool Books to Read With Your Kids

( free ) Maya Lin Thinking with Her Hands ☆ Susan Goldman Rubin – Kindle, TXT or Book Download

Susan Goldman Rubin ↠ 4 review

In the tradition of DELICIOUS WIDENESS WONDER and EVERYBODY PAINTS this is Susan Goldman Rubin's extensively researched and very accessible biography of civic activist Maya Lin most famous for her design of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial The Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington DC is one of the most famous pieces of civic archite. Copy provided by the publisher This was a fantastic well illustrated biography and I appreciated that it talked about different projects of Lin s Would I have bought a copy No Lin is 6 years older than I am so a biography seems premature This will uickly date reuiring another biography to be bought I also look for biographies of people who have brought some kind of change to the world not movie stars or sports figures and Lin is on that line Okay the Vietnam Memorial is a nice work but has her architecture changed the world I d prefer a good book about Frank Lloyd Wright who did influence the way people live today by changing how houses were designed

Read Maya Lin Thinking with Her Hands

Maya Lin Thinking with Her Hands

Ely with photos and drawings the carefully researched text crosses multiple interests American history civic activism art history and cultural diversity and offers a timely celebration of the memorial's 35th anniversary as well as contributing to the current important discussion of the role of women and minorities in American socie. Maya LinFittingly Susan Goldman Rubin titles the chapters of her book Maya Lin with artful substances from nature since the natural world informs her architectural art Chapter 1 Clay describes Maya s early years in a home of Chinese ancestry with a father who is a ceramicist and a mother who is a poet Given the chance to do her own modeling with the clay hearing poetic words and being surrounded by natural beauty sets a stage early for what she will become Chapter 2 Granite tells the story of her unexpected win by a college student over 1421 entries to design the Vietnam Memorial Who would have thought her simple symbolic design would reuire so much strength on her part to keep that design as she had envisioned or that she would get only a B for the class Chapter 3 Water gave her a vision of using the biblical uote from the Martin Luther King address on the Civil Rights Memorial Until Justice rolls down like water and righteousness like a mighty stream with water flowing over the uote Chapter 4 Earth took her back to childhood playing with her brother over hills behind their house She created Wave Field Flutter and Storm King Wave Field from that memory experience Chapter 5 Glass kept an old barn in one sculpture and created a skylighted Noah s ark with another both with abundant glass to give a feeling of being outdoors in nature Chapter 6 Celadon green from her Chinese heritage was Maya s choice for the basic color of the Museum of Chinese in America Chapter 7 Dunes and Driftwood became replacements for parking lots as she paid tribute to the paths of Lewis and Clark and the parallel path of the Native Americans to the ocean She achieved her goal of showing what had been lost and what could be saved Chapter 8 Wood has her only design for a family home Most of the time Maya will not do this kind of work However she did not abandon her outdoor approach since the house has a tree growing up through the deck and an abundance of windows The final chapter sets her philosophy of giving back and thinking about what is missing as society takes over the natural world With many beautiful photographs abundant research and a gift for story telling Susan Goldman Rubin shows the human being along with her artistic achievement and her love of nature I recommend this fascinating biography of the work of the accomplished architect which is also a Junior Library Guild selection if you would like additional verification

Read Å PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook ↠ Susan Goldman Rubin

Cture in the world But most people are not as familiar with the reserved college student who entered and won the design competition to build it This accessible biography tells the story of Maya Lin from her struggle to stick with her vision of the memorial to the wide variety of works she has created since then Illustrated extensiv. I came to think book only knowing Maya Lin as the designer of the Vietnam War Memorial and left with an impression of a very thoughtful very skilled artist


10 thoughts on “Maya Lin Thinking with Her Hands

  1. says:

    Copy provided by the publisher This was a fantastic well illustrated biography and I appreciated that it talked about different projects of Lin's Would I have bought a copy? No Lin is 6 years older than I am so a biography seems premature This will uickly date reuiring another biography to be bought I also look for biograp

  2. says:

    Published to coincide with the 35th anniversary of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington DC which Maya Lin designed for a competition while still a college student the book echoes the famed architect’s spare minimalist style with its compact trim size and simple organizing principal from Publishers Weekly

  3. says:

    this small tome just over 100 pages offers us a glimpse into Lin's life her most famous comissions and her creative process

  4. says:

    I came to think book only knowing Maya Lin as the designer of the Vietnam War Memorial and left with an impression of a very thoughtful very skilled artist

  5. says:

    SOOO FASCINATING

  6. says:

    Teaching Guide

  7. says:

    Maya LinFittingly Susan Goldman Rubin titles the chapters of her book Maya Lin with artful substances from nature since the natural world informs her architectural art Chapter 1 – Clay describes Maya’s early years in a home of Chinese ancestry with a father who is a ceramicist and a mother who is a poet Give

  8. says:

    Maya LinThinking With Her Handsby Susan Goldman RubinChronicle BooksChildren's Nonfiction Middle GradePub Date 07 Nov 2017 I am voluntarily reviewing Maya Lin through Chronicle Books and NetgalleyAs a child Maya did not dream of becoming an artist but a veternarian She and her brother roamed the woods behind there house on Cable Lane in Athens Ohio where they would sit uietly watching the animalsMaya Yin Ling was born on October 51959 her

  9. says:

    A biography of architect and artist Maya Lin that looks at her life growing up then some of her biggest projects the inspiration for each one and why she decided to do each oneSusan Goldman Rubin's books are lusciously put together They always

  10. says:

    Maya Lin was thrust into the national spotlight when her design for the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington D

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2021 Children s Books, Kids Books, Stories for Kids

Tessa Young is an 18 year old college student with a simple life, excellent grades, and a sweet boyfriend She always has things planned out ahead of time, until she meets a rude boy named Harry, with too many tattoos and piercings who shatters her plans.